top of page

DIABETES AND HAIR LOSS: UNDERSTANDING THE CONNECTION

As someone who has been living with type 1 diabetes for several years, I have experienced firsthand the various ways in which this condition can affect the body. One surprising side effect that I have encountered is hair loss. In this article, we’ll explore the connection between diabetes and hair loss and what you can do to manage it. I hope it can benefit people who are going through the same condition.




Connection Between Diabetes and Hair Loss

At first, I didn’t make the connection between my diabetes and my hair loss. I simply noticed that I was shedding more hair than usual, particularly when I brushed or washed it. Over time, however, I began to notice that my hair was noticeably thinner and that I was developing bald spots on my scalp. I was concerned about this, as I had always taken pride in my thick, healthy hair.

It was only when I spoke to my doctor about my hair fall that I learned about the connection between diabetes and hair loss.

My doctor explained that high blood sugar levels can damage blood vessels throughout the body, including those that supply nutrients to the hair follicles. This can lead to weakened hair roots, which can in turn cause hair to fall out more easily. In addition, diabetes can also affect the body’s hormone levels, which can contribute to hair loss. As a result, I am aware of the importance of diabetes management .


My experience with symptoms of diabetes-related hair loss

  • Increased hair shedding during brushing or washing

  • Thinning hair

  • Bald spots on the scalp

Managing Diabetes-Related Hair Loss

I have personally experienced the distressing effects of diabetes-related hair loss. It was a frustrating realization, as I had always taken pride in my thick, healthy hair, but it also gave me a sense of clarity and direction in terms of managing my health. By working closely with my healthcare provider, I was able to make adjustments to my medication and lifestyle habits, which have helped reduce the impact of hair loss. While it has been a challenging journey, understanding the causes of diabetes-related hair loss has empowered me to take a proactive approach to my health and to prioritize my overall well-being.


Here are some ways i used to control my Hair loss as a Diabetic

  • Speak to doctor about adjusting my diabetes medication to manage my blood sugar levels

  • Make lifestyle changes such as exercising regularly and eating a healthy diet

  • Use gentle shampoos and avoid tight hairstyles that can put stress on the hair

  • Consider using hair growth products or consulting with a dermatologist.

  • The herbs used in Ayurvedic medicine also helped me manage my diabetes. Amla or the Indian gooseberry, is ‌a potent Ayurvedic herb. It’s packed with vitamin C and antioxidants, so it’s perfect for controlling diabetes and hair loss.

Conclusion

Learning about the connection between diabetes and hair loss can be alarming, but it can also provide reassurance that you are not alone in experiencing this symptom. By staying alert and working closely with your healthcare providers, you can take steps to manage your diabetes and prevent further hair loss. Remember, taking a holistic approach to your health can help improve your overall well-being. Together, we can fight and prevent diabetes-related complications.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page